Fuerteventura is the second largest island in the Canary archipelago
the climate throughout the year is pleasant.

Fuerteventura is the second largest island in the Canary archipelago with a surface area of 1 ,658 km2.
Fuerteventura has vast plains and its central area is one elongated plain where most of the highest hills are to be found.
The island have been numerous volcanic eruptions throughout its geological history, these have not been enough to compensate for the erosive process or to rejuvenate the land to any great extent.


Fuerteventura is divided into six municipalities: La Oliva, Puerto del Rosario, Betancuria, Antigua, Tuineje and Pájara and its capital is Puerto del Rosario.


The climate on Fuerteventura throughout the year is pleasant. During the winter months, temperatures average a high of 21°C and a low of 15°C, whereas during the summer months a mean high of 27°C and a low of 20°C.

Precipitation is about 147 mm per annum, most of which falls in the winter. The sandstorm known as the scirocco, Leveche in Spain blows to the southwest from the Sahara desert causing high temperatures and low visibility and drying air. Temperatures during this phenomenon rise by 10 degrees Celsius. The wind brings in fine white sand, visibility drops to about 100 to 200 m or lower, and also African locusts. The local inhabitants call this phenomenon the “Calima”.


The main economy on Fuerteventura is based on tourism; other main industries are fishing, agriculture (cereals and vegetables), and other businesses. Majorero cheese is locally made from the milk of the indigenous majorera goat. Give it a try!


Primary tourist areas are around the existing towns of Corralejo in the north and Morro Jable in Jandia plus the purely tourist development at Caleta de Fuste south of Puerto del Rosario.


Throughout the whole of the island of Fuerteventura visitors will find beautiful and unique natural spaces to admire, such as the dunes at Corralejo, with its kilometres of sand dunes, Tindaya Mountain, one of Fuerteventura’s most characteristic geomorphologic elements, and without forgetting some impressive landscapes, particularly in the area of Arco de Cofete in Jandia.
Ajui | La Arena | Betancuria | Cardon | Corralejo Dunas | Caldera de Gairia | Malpais Grande | Jandia | Islote de Lobos | Matorral Beach | Tindaya Mountain | Cuchillo de Vigan | Vallebron